Dialectical journals are graphic organizers that are used to assist a reader
  throughout the reading process. You will use the dialectical journals to
  complete the Les Miserables final project. 
    
     1.Choose a character (Jean Valjean, Cosette, Thenardier, Eponine, Javert,
or the narrator; You cannot choose FANTINE...) as the focus for your dialectical journals. For the blog list write your quote and page number in proper MLA format.
     2. Paraphrase the meaning of the quote by putting it into your own
  words.

     3. Analyze the quote to explain the significance of the quote including
  how it may address a theme, contribute to characterization, reveal a truth
about  life, or is an example of beautiful writing. 

     4. Respond to a peer's post that was particularly insightful and share
  your thoughts.


James Krafft Dr. Griffin English 12 3 December 2012 Dialectical Journal
for  Cosette Quote: “Cosette could not stir that she did not draw upon herself a 
hailstorm of underserved and severe chastisements” (Hugo 42). Paraphrase: I 
think the quote means that Cosette did not know why she is treated the way she
was at this point in the novel. She went from having a loving relationship with
  her mom to being stuck with the Thenardiers. I think the hailstorm part means
  that these emotions are all coming at once, making it hard for her to
  understand. Analysis: This quote gives me a feeling of sadness for Cosette. I
  know I would be upset if my parents gave me to these horrible people. If I was
  old enough I would try to run away. I would never want this to happen to my
  children. This quote adds to the feeling of misery in this novel. It seems like
  the book will never have a turn for the better.

ATTENTION: Dezja Ellis I agree with your analysis because you said that
The  Thenardiers only wanted Cosette for the money that they aquired from
Fantine and  the work that she did for free. They are basically getting paid to
make Cosette  work nonstop.



Leave a Reply.